LED Display Power Supply Price: The Eight Cost Drivers Behind Every Quote

Short Answer: What Decides the Price You Pay

First answer: a led display power supply price is not set by wattage. Two 200 W units can carry very different costs because of capacitor grade and temperature rating, PFC circuitry, protection set, ripple, tolerance, working temperature range, certification and traceability.

Second answer: a quoted price depends on specification, quantity, lead time, currency and the component market, so factories quote per project rather than publish a list price. This page carries no unit prices.

For published output, ripple and efficiency by model, see the Mean Well 5 V power supply range.

{'id': 11913, 'url': 'https://excelleddisplay.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/ExcelLED-LED-Display-Power-Supply-Cost-Drivers-Breakdown.webp', 'alt': 'Diagram of the eight cost drivers behind a led display power supply price quotation'}

Why Manufacturers Do Not Publish a Fixed Unit Price

A power supply is sold as a configuration, not a product name. The same model can be ordered with a different connector, voltage trim, coating and label, so the price of one model number is quoted per configuration rather than listed. A list price would be valid only for the exact build it describes; a different connector, coating or approval file is a different manufacturing order.

A quotation describes a configuration, not a catalogue number

When a buyer asks for the led power supply price of a 5 V 200 W unit, the factory must assume five things: revision, quantity, destination market, delivery date and payment terms; only then can a led display power supply price be fixed.

Four variables that move between two identical enquiries

  • Specification: voltage platform (5 V, 4.2 V or 3.3 V), harmonic compliance, cabinet fit.
  • Quantity: setup cost and buying power spread over the order.
  • Lead time: standard or expedited parts, sea or air movement.
  • Currency and component market: capacitors, copper and magnetics move with the market.

Purchase cost and running cost also separate. The energy side depends on efficiency rather than on the led display power supply price at order, as set out in our guide to the annual energy side of the same calculation.

The Eight Cost Drivers Behind Every Quotation

Eight items explain most of the spread in led display power supply cost between two offers for the same wattage.

Cost driver What changes How it appears in the quote
Capacitor grade and temperature rating Higher temperature rating and longer rated life at the same ripple A BOM line; visible to the buyer only through ripple, hold-up time and MTBF
Control IC, MOSFET and magnetics grade Switching headroom, tighter feedback, larger magnetics Shows as efficiency and derating at high ambient
LED and driver IC grade on the supplied side Whether the build supports the 4.2 V or 3.3 V platform a common-cathode cabinet needs; UHP publishes such models Seldom itemised, yet it changes both usable output and the led display power supply price
Active PFC present or absent An extra boost stage with its own inductor, switch and control RSP-200-5 and RSP-500-5 publish PF>0.95/230 VAC; the LRS-200 and LRS-450 datasheets state the unit does not meet the harmonic current requirements outlined by BS EN/EN61000-3-2
Certification scope and testing Samples, testing and audit for each market The approval list on the label, from UL/IEC/EN 62368-1 to BIS and KC schemes
Potting, coating and mechanical construction Semi-potted or coated board, thicker enclosure, better thermal path Moisture and dust behaviour outdoors, plus weight
Tolerance, ripple and protection set Better output capacitors, careful layout, sensing per protection, which feeds the led display power supply price 150–200 mVp-p ripple at 5 V across the models below; ±0.03 %/°C on most
Warranty and batch traceability Failure-rate headroom designed in; lot and date codes with test records The RSP-150/200/320/500 datasheets state 3 years

None of the eight is visible in a wattage figure, so the quoted figure cannot be read off a nameplate. Harmonic compliance is the most overlooked driver: industry practice documented by Chuanglian Power (WeChat official account, 2020) observes that cost pressure leads many display factories toward supplies without PFC circuits, at the cost of grid harmonic current.

Supply sizing is covered in circuit level sizing behind the supply. Once the current is known, choosing between a naturally cooled LRS-450-5 datasheet figures and a fan-cooled model is a cost decision that moves the led display power supply price as much as the thermal design.

Same Wattage, Different Price: What Changes and What Does Not

The fastest way to see why two offers for 200 W differ is to compare published parameters of models in the same power class.

Model (5 V output) Usable 5 V output Efficiency (typ.) Ripple max. Power factor at 230 VAC Working temp. MTBF Telcordia / MIL-HDBK-217F
LRS-200-5 200 W (40 A) 87 % 150 mVp-p No PFC stage; datasheet states it does not meet BS EN/EN61000-3-2 harmonic limits, and the missing stage shows up in the led display power supply price -25 ~ +70 °C 2346.6K h / 279.4K h
RSP-200-5 200 W (40 A) 87 % 150 mVp-p PF>0.95 -30 ~ +70 °C Not stated / 224.5K h
UHP-200-5 200 W (40 A) 91 % 200 mVp-p PF 0.94 -30 ~ +70 °C Not stated
LRS-450-5 375 W (75 A) 87 % 200 mVp-p No PFC stage; same harmonic note as the LRS-200-5, and one of the eight cost drivers -20 ~ +70 °C 1508.9K h / 252.2K h
RSP-500-5 450 W (90 A) 84 % 150 mVp-p PF>0.95 -30 ~ +70 °C 1372.4K h / 187.9K h
UHP-500-5 400 W (80 A) 94 % 200 mVp-p PF 0.95 -30 ~ +70 °C 1264.1K h / 167.6K h

First, the model number is not the usable output: LRS-450-5 delivers 375 W and UHP-500-5 delivers 400 W on their 5 V output, so read that column before judging a led display power supply price.

Second, MTBF is not comparable across standards: one LRS-200-5 is listed at 2346.6K hours under Telcordia SR-332 and 279.4K hours under MIL-HDBK-217F at 25 °C, so a quote citing long life without naming the standard is not evidence.

Third, a fan-cooled unit is not automatically costlier. Compare the naturally cooled LRS-200-5 specification sheet, the fan-cooled RSP-500-5 open-frame unit and the conduction-cooled UHP-350-5 fanless series: the spread sits in thermal design and the capacitor grade it permits, both of which sit inside the led display power supply price.

{'id': 11914, 'url': 'https://excelleddisplay.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/MeanWell-LRS-200-5-Power-Supply-Quality-Marks-and-Traceability-1.webp', 'alt': 'LRS-200-5 led display power supply quality marks and traceability label'}

Certification, Testing and Warranty as Cost Items

Approvals are paid for, are part of the led display power supply cost, and differ by model: LRS-200 carries BIS IS13252(Part1):2010/IEC 60950-1 and BS EN/EN61558-1, while LRS-450 adds BS IEC/UL 62368-1. A 230 VAC-only model such as the NEL-400-5 230 VAC-only model shows the narrower envelope: one input range, -20 ~ +60 °C.

Testing and warranty sit in the same category. Industry practice documented by HC LED (ledp.hczyw.com, 2025) describes custom specification development measured in working days rather than months, with inspection stages before packing that are priced into the offer.

Volume, Lead Time, Currency and Component Markets

Commercial terms matter as much as the specification: quantity decides how setup cost and buying power spread, lead time whether parts are expedited, and currency exposure who carries the risk until delivery. All three sit inside a led display power supply price.

A common commercial practice is to issue a quotation with a validity window, because capacitor, copper and freight markets move; treat that date as part of the comparison. Efficiency belongs on the cost side too: a supply at 94 % rather than 84 % rejects less heat into the cabinet, as covered in how long a supply actually lasts.

How to Read an LED Display Power Supply Price Quotation

The lines that decide the unit price

Read an offer in this order: model and revision, voltage and current at load, protection set, approval list for your market, quantity and delivery basis, validity date. A quote means little if the voltage platform is missing, because a 5 V and a 4.2 V build are different products.

What a quotation should always contain

Item Why it matters
Exact model number and series Confirms voltage platform and cooling
Revision or version code Stops a changed revision mid-project
Batch or lot code and date code Traces a field failure to a batch
Routine test record Shows which tests ran
Warranty terms and period Defines what is replaced
Certificate scope by market Avoids unused or missing approvals
Quantity, Incoterms and validity date Makes two offers comparable
Spare part reference Shortens downtime: see selecting a supply for each cabinet load

Illustrative Cost-Driver Ranking

Illustrative ranking. This order is our engineering assessment of relative influence on the quoted led display power supply price. It is not a price breakdown and contains no currency figures.

  1. Capacitor grade and temperature rating.
  2. Active PFC stage and harmonic compliance.
  3. Certification scope and testing.
  4. Voltage platform and usable output.
  5. Ripple, tolerance and protection set.
  6. Potting or coating and construction.
  7. Warranty period and traceability records.
  8. Volume, lead time and currency timing.

Use it to decide where to spend, and where a led display power supply price should not be trimmed: in a hot, dusty location, drivers 1 and 6 deserve budget, while indoors in one stable market, driver 3 can often be trimmed with least risk.

What to Ask Before Comparing Two Quotes

Two offers for a led display power supply, including any wholesale price offer, are comparable only when they answer the same questions. Ask both suppliers, in writing:

  • Which voltage platform, and which usable output?
  • Is PFC fitted, and which harmonic standard is met?
  • Which approval schemes and markets are covered?
  • What warranty applies, and what does it cover?
  • Which batch, date code and test record ship with the order?
  • Which Incoterms and validity date apply?
  • Which spare part number should be held?

If a supplier will not answer the first four in writing, the comparison is not yet a comparison. Where a unit must match an existing cabinet, the checks in matching a replacement to the original apply first.

{'id': 11915, 'url': 'https://excelleddisplay.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/MeanWell-RSP-500-5-Power-Supply-Open-Frame-Chassis-View.webp', 'alt': 'RSP-500-5 open frame led power supply chassis construction affecting cost'}

FAQ

Why is the led display power supply price not published as a fixed figure?

Because it depends on the configuration ordered, the quantity, the delivery date and the component and currency market at the time of the order.

Why do two quotes for the same wattage differ so much?

Wattage is only one line. Capacitor grade, PFC, certification scope, ripple and tolerance, potting, warranty and traceability all change the build.

Is the number in the model name the usable output?

Not always. On the 5 V output the LRS-450-5 is rated 375 W and the UHP-500-5 is rated 400 W in their specification documents.

Does active PFC add cost, and do I need it?

Active PFC is a real circuit stage with magnetics and control parts, so it carries cost. It is needed where harmonic current limits or site power quality apply. Some models without it state that the unit does not meet the harmonic current requirements outlined by BS EN/EN61000-3-2.

Is a longer warranty worth paying for?

A warranty is a commitment backed by a failure-rate assumption, so it is priced into the led display power supply price, and worth paying for where replacement access is difficult.

Why is MTBF quoted with different numbers for the same model?

More than one calculation method is in use. The same LRS-200-5 appears as 2346.6K hours under Telcordia SR-332 and 279.4K hours under MIL-HDBK-217F at 25 °C.

Can I lower the price by choosing a lower efficiency model?

Often yes on the purchase order, but running cost moves the other way: a lower-efficiency unit draws more input power and runs hotter.

What should a power supply quotation include before I sign?

The exact model and revision, the output rating at your voltage, the protection set, the approval list for your market, the batch and date code practice, the warranty terms and a validity date, so that the led display power supply price can be checked line by line.

Get Factory-Direct Pricing

Excel LED supplies Mean Well-based 5 V power configurations for indoor and outdoor display projects and quotes the delivered price against a defined specification rather than a catalogue figure. Send the cabinet count, module current, voltage platform and destination market, and we return a quotation stating the model, revision, approval list, warranty period and validity date. For a parallel reference range, see the LEGIDATECH power supply range. A common planning rule is to hold one spare supply per cabinet group, and to confirm every line of the led display power supply price in writing before release.

{'id': 11916, 'url': 'https://excelleddisplay.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/MeanWell-LRS-450-5-Power-Supply-Model-Label-and-Terminal-Block-1.webp', 'alt': 'LRS-450-5 led display power supply model label and terminal block for quote comparison'}

Scroll to Top

Contact Us Now!

Thank You for Your Inquiry!

 Our LED display expert will contact you within 12 hours.

You can also contact us directly: +86 18569492693 ;excelledscreens@gmail.com